Showing posts with label lost. Show all posts
Showing posts with label lost. Show all posts

09 December 2011

Gelataria Crawl...

Yep. As good (and unhealthy) as it sounds.

And I mean honestly, only in Roma could your professor convince your university to give you money to eat gelato.

It's called "an immersive experience".

So this past weekend I found myself taking the bus down to the bottom of the hill and purchasing some delicous gelato.

The first place was FatamorganaAnd it was delicious. I really wish that I had discovered this place earlier - they have so many cool flavors!! It's not my absolute favorite...but I think it's my second.

The two flavors I tried: Kentucky (I mean, come on, I had to) which was described as chocolate and tobacco....Have to say, didn't taste any tobacco. It just tasted...earthier. Bacio - I always have bacio. It's my comparison flavor. This one had a legit hazelnut in it.

Upside: Great choices, all natural ingredients!

Downside: Off the beaten track. As in on a side street that gets no pedestrian traffic. I really hope this place makes it!!!

The second place was Gelarmony. This one, though equally good, didn't have the variety of flavors I was hoping for. However, it was much easier to find. You get off the bus and - Voila! It's there in front of you! I do have to say though, if you like Dreamscicle, try the Mandarin orange flavor. It distinctly reminded me of Dreamscicles.

Beautiful sunset. 




After this I needed to work off the calories and sugar...so I walked down along the Tiber...

Carousels, Santa, balloons, games...











Across to Piazza Navona and the Christmas market...








Jacopo and Natalie


To the Pantheon, and on down to Trastevere where there was a chocolate festival....Nbd.

I'm going to miss Rome. A lot.

Baci,

Mari

18 November 2011

One Month

The 17th of  November 2011 marked the one-month-left mark of my studies in Roma...

Where did time go?

No, really....where the hell did it go?

When I first arrived here I made sure that I didn't spend a single weekend evening in...even if that just meant getting lost and running into the Pantheon.

But last night, I went to bed early. What gives?!

I think this happens a lot when traveling - even for shorter amounts of time....there's a sense of urgency to fit everything in, but then you exhaust yourself...and end up saying - "tomorrow" or worse, "next weekend" - them you realize you have, like, three weekends left.

three.weekends.left.

And how many papers? How many final projects? How many exams? WHY DID YOU WASTE YOUR TIME?

Sorry Lenon, this time "time you enjoy wasting" was wasted.


(Though it's usually not.)

BUT! You still have three weekends, several evenings, and the desire to correct this wrong! So get out there!!!! NOW! GET OFF IWASTESOMUCHTIME AND GO FORTH!!!

I'm only yelling because I love you. And please know that I am also yelling at myself.

Now I have to go and get lost.

Baci,
Mari

06 November 2011

Caribbean Paradise in Downtown Roma (a re-post from mydailycupoftea)

This is for the tea blog I write for, but I wanted to share it with you here because the story with it is funny (and typical).


Category: Fruit Infusion

It took A LOT for me to bring you this tea review.

Since finding tea in Roma is so spotty, I did some Google research before going out. I thought I had found a place. I knew the street it was supposed to be on, the name, as well as the general way to get there. I found the street (finally). I never found the Bar though. In fact, I accidentally ended up where I started (I knew this because I was suddenly next to the vintage store I had discovered earlier that morning and where I had purchased a pair of shoes – i.e. where I had started). 

I decided to do further research and return later. I was supposed to be at Il Gesù, a very famous church in Roma, for a tour at 4PM, so I headed there with my friend. When we got there I really had to go to the bathroom – so I walked down a random alley heading towards a bar and what should be on the side of the door but the words “TEA ROOM.” I got really excited.

Especially when I entered and they actually had a tea selection! Whittington Superior Teas. They in fact had a selection of 40 teas. You can see all the flavors here.

I chose number 27 – Caribbean Paradise. Then I ran to the bathroom.

Upon returning for my tea, I did commit a Roman faux pas – I asked for it “al via” – for the street. I had to get back for the tour. Normally this is a no-no – you either sit or stand at the bar. So I received it in a clear plastic cup – two in fact, one inside of the other for insulation purposes I assume since I still had to hold it at the top so as not to burn my hands.

It was well worth the €2. As you can see from the picture it is supposed to taste of coconut, mango, and some other tropical fruit – it did! Especially the coconut. You could really smell it (awesome smell, very aromatic) but the taste was more of the mango. It was a very lively tea – I think it would have been extremely delicious if it were cold. As it was, it was only a delicious fruit infusion, or tisane (no true tea in it). The next time I’m up near Piazza di Popolo or the Spanish Steps I think I’ll stop in and try another. I’m thinking number 32 or number 7.

By the way. We were at the wrong Il Gesù. Completely wrong end of Via del Corso. They’re offering another tour in December for those who missed it though. 

See the post in its original setting here: http://mydailycupoftea.com/caribbean-paradise-in-downtown-roma!